Favorites

 

I raised a question about your favorite things
You respond with a smile on your face
and a spark in your eyes I never knew existed
You opened your mouth, then said:

“I love the coffee shop near our school,
the freshly baked potatoes my mom always cook,
the vibrant sunset I always see,
or the john legend playlist i always like to hear.”

Your list went longer and longer.
And when I heard you mention the last thing,
my eyes cracked in tears
because i never made it into your list.

Funny how life is too unfair,
to ever experience my worst nightmare
Because if you would ask me my favorites,
it’s always you that would top the list.

Leave a Reply

